The Dota 2 Ranking System is explained.

Dota 2 Ranking System If you’re a new or returning Dota 2 player, here’s all the latest information on the Dota 2 rank system.

Long-time Dota 2 players may find the game’s mechanics basic or straightforward; after all, it is a decade-old computer game. However, it is continually changing, and new players are always entering and trying out the famous MOBA. One of the most often asked questions concerning Dota 2’s ranking system.

What exactly is MMR? How can I find out what my rank is? How can I get to the top of the ranks? All of your rank and matching system questions will be addressed here.

On our website, you may also discover a hero tier list, heroes to play for beginners, tips for certain characters, and much more.

What exactly is MMR in Dota 2?

Your rank, or skill level, is determined by your MMR, or Matchmaking Rank number. Dota 2 offers two forms of MMR: one for Ranked matches and one for Unranked matches. However, just the Ranked MMR is shown on your profile. There is also a secret sub-MMR that displays your ability level for certain game roles (Carry, Mid, Support, etc). MMR begins at one and may increase indefinitely.

In Dota 2, how does MMR calibration work?

Before you may earn your official ranking MMR, new players must first fulfil a few prerequisites.

  • Played 100 hours of normal match (Turbo or Unranked Match)
  • Connect your phone number to your account.

Following completion of these qualifications, new players are entitled to participate in ten Calibration matches.

How can you tell whether you’ve unlocked Calibration? When you go to your Profile > Stats, you’ll see MMR TBD– 10 Games Remaining.

Many players believe that just the previous ten matches are important, whereas Dota 2 considers your full match history over the last 100 hours to calculate your rank.

After 10 matches, you will get your MMR and be given a medal according to your rank.

What exactly are the medals in Dota 2?

There are medals in Dota 2 that signify your rank and MMR. While your medal is accessible to everyone, your MMR is just visible to you. There are eight medals, each with five tiers represented by stars. There are, for example, Herald 1, Herald 2, Herald 3, Herald 4, and Herald 5.

Herald (0 ~ 700)

Herald players are at the bottom of the rankings, and it is evident that they are made up of inexperienced or less skilled players. There are also a lot of individuals with excellent talents that are continuously not playing correctly, idling, or receiving abandons due to poor gaming specifications or connection.

The Herald bracket is wild and may be completely random at times due to a lack of grasp of meta or itemization.

Guardian (770~1,386)

The Guardian bracket is only one step ahead of the Herald bracket. These two brackets have comparable gameplay and may be unfamiliar with many Dota 2 fundamentals.

Crusader (1,540 ~ 2,156)

When you enter this bracket, you’ll see that the players know a little bit more about the game. They are more likely to use item guides and have a greater grasp of the game.

Archon (2,310 ~ 2,926)

If you arrive in Archon, you’ve joined the average club. This bracket is expected to include more collaboration and more strategized movements.

Legend (3,080 ~ 3,696)

The Legend bracket is better than average. They’re a step up from Archon, and they’re typically better at things like last hitting, decision making, and so on.

Ancient (3,850~4,466)

The Ancient bracket is when players begin to properly grasp the game. They understand more about Dota 2, such as the significance of map mobility. Furthermore, they have superior mechanical abilities and are more adept at laning.

Divine (4,620~5,420)

Welcome to the top of the food chain, Divine bracket players are very skilled at the game, having mastered the majority of Dota 2 mechanics and gameplay.

Immortal (Leaderboard)

Immortals are players on the leaderboard who represent the top Dota 2 players in the world. These players are chosen from a pool of professional players at various levels. They are the ones that often determine meta; their patch discoveries are followed down to the lowest bracket. You can also find their games on the Dota 2 client’s Watch tab.

Immortals get various medals based on their position on the leaderboard. They are divided into top 1000, 100, 10, and 1 lists.

How to Improve Your MMR and Win Medals in Dota 2

As is customary, winning a Ranked game entails winning MMR and vice versa. Dota 2 calculates your MMR gain/loss in a clear and easy manner.

  • +30 MMR or -30 MMR for solo games
  • +20 MMR or -20 MMR party games

Typically, 1 MMR represents about 1% of your medal progress, so achieving 30 MMR would be around 30%. The percentage on your profile shows your medal progress.

How does Dota 2 matchmaking work?

The Dota 2 matching algorithm will attempt to pair a fair matchup based on the average MMR. So, on both teams, there may be different medals or an MMR disparity, but the average is the same.

When queueing party matches, what is the MMR gap limit?

The maximum MMR gap for a party to queue together is 2,000 MMR. As a result, if you’re 1K MMR, you won’t be able to queue Ranked games with players higher than 3K MMR.

How Does Dota 2 Recalibration Work?

Players may recalibrate their MMR one year after calibration (Settings>Account). What motivates them to do so? Recalibration might be used to reset your MMR if you believe you belong in a different bracket.

Recalibration is a game of chance. For a solo victory in your standard ranked games, you’ll get +30 MMR. However, in Calibration games, you will have the opportunity to increase your MMR and maybe get +50 MMR every victory. Depending on your performance, you may possibly get more. However, losing a game means losing the same amount of MMR. So, although recalibration is hazardous, it is also lucrative.

Returning gamers who have not played their account in months or even years will have their account put in a special recalibration mode. Dota 2 will consider the length of their absence when determining their current rank.

MMR Facts

The MMR system has been reset a few times, and there have been a few noteworthy records of the highest obtained MMR.

The first player to arrive at:

  • Aliwi “w33” Omar has an MMR of 8K.
  • Amer “Miracle-” Al-Barkawi has a 9K MMR.
  • Abed “Abed” Azel L. Yusop has 10K MMR.
  • Abed “Abed” Azel L. Yusop is the 11K MMR.
  • Nuengnara “23savage” Teeramahanon has 12K MMR.

Bijesh is the lead writer on Sports since 2018. His passion and contribution to breldigital in the sports category are so Immense. Ustav also provides Content writing services for businesses of all size
Leave a comment